Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Moderator: The Gunslinger

Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Postby -dumbuket » Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:40 am

Sorry to rehash an old debate, but I've been out of the loop for a while.

Is it ever possible to penetrate a skimmer in close combat?
-dumbuket
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 7:44 am

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Postby -FarseerVinnie » Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:07 am

My understanding is no. The primary basis for this understanding is that the eldar FAQ specifies that:

"If a skimmer moving over 6 inches is hit, regardless of the source, all penetrating hits become glancing hits - including wraithcannon and haywire grenades"

Since haywire grenades are HtH, this implies rather strongly that no HtH attacks can penetrate a skimmer that moved more than 6 inches.

EDIT: Reread your question, and my answer only applies to skimmers moving over 6", which is where the ambiguity lies. You can definately penetrate a skimmer if it moved less than 6", there's no argument there. The attacks are resolved as with any other vehicle, but you need a 6 to hit.
-FarseerVinnie
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 7:12 am

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Postby deFl0 » Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:23 pm

Wow... Things I wish I knew at Necro...

Pete
deFl0
 
Posts: 3992
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 3:52 pm

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Postby The Gunslinger » Tue Jul 25, 2006 1:57 am

Pete, isn't that under the shooting section of the rulebook, and if so, only apply to shooting attacks
:2guns:
User avatar
The Gunslinger
 
Posts: 3505
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:48 pm

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Postby -FarseerVinnie » Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:09 am

Lou, I think we've had this conversation before. The rule about skimmers is in the shooting section, but since there's nothing in it that specifies shooting attacks, there's nothing to indicate that it only applies to shooting, only the quote from the FAQ which indicates that it applies to HtH and shooting.

Pete... Please tell me you weren't penetrating fast skimmers in HtH at the Necro... :(
-FarseerVinnie
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 7:12 am

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Postby mauleed » Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:28 am

You can pen skimmers in hth, but only if they move 6" or less.

You can not pen skimmers moving >6" for any reason.

Lou, while the "skimmers moving fast" rules are in the shooting section, so are the damage tables. So any argument that they only apply to shooting would also be an argument that skimmers can't ever be hurt in hth (since there is no damage table in that section). Obviously this isn't the case.
mauleed
 
Posts: 3177
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:23 pm

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Postby -FarseerVinnie » Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:57 am

So you can penetrate skimmers, but only if they move less than six inches. Skimmers that move more than six inches can't be penetrated by shooting or HtH.

The counter argument to this is that the "you can't glance skimmers" rule is in the shooting section, but that's nonsense, since lots of rules apply to sections of the book that they're not in.
-FarseerVinnie
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 7:12 am

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Postby The Gunslinger » Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:44 am

Sooo, what are you saying? ;)

Kidding. Got it! 6" and less, may be pen'd. More than 6", glancing only from HTH or shooting or from pirates
:2guns:
User avatar
The Gunslinger
 
Posts: 3505
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:48 pm

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Postby -FarseerVinnie » Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:19 am

So basically, you can only penetrate skimmers that move under 6"

Ed? Anything to add? :|
-FarseerVinnie
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 7:12 am

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

Postby mauleed » Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:30 am

Nope, that covers it.
mauleed
 
Posts: 3177
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:23 pm

Next

Return to Warhammer 40,000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

cron