Page 1 of 2

Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:40 am
by -dumbuket
Sorry to rehash an old debate, but I've been out of the loop for a while.

Is it ever possible to penetrate a skimmer in close combat?

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:07 am
by -FarseerVinnie
My understanding is no. The primary basis for this understanding is that the eldar FAQ specifies that:

"If a skimmer moving over 6 inches is hit, regardless of the source, all penetrating hits become glancing hits - including wraithcannon and haywire grenades"

Since haywire grenades are HtH, this implies rather strongly that no HtH attacks can penetrate a skimmer that moved more than 6 inches.

EDIT: Reread your question, and my answer only applies to skimmers moving over 6", which is where the ambiguity lies. You can definately penetrate a skimmer if it moved less than 6", there's no argument there. The attacks are resolved as with any other vehicle, but you need a 6 to hit.

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:23 pm
by deFl0
Wow... Things I wish I knew at Necro...

Pete

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 1:57 am
by The Gunslinger
Pete, isn't that under the shooting section of the rulebook, and if so, only apply to shooting attacks

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:09 am
by -FarseerVinnie
Lou, I think we've had this conversation before. The rule about skimmers is in the shooting section, but since there's nothing in it that specifies shooting attacks, there's nothing to indicate that it only applies to shooting, only the quote from the FAQ which indicates that it applies to HtH and shooting.

Pete... Please tell me you weren't penetrating fast skimmers in HtH at the Necro... :(

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:28 am
by mauleed
You can pen skimmers in hth, but only if they move 6" or less.

You can not pen skimmers moving >6" for any reason.

Lou, while the "skimmers moving fast" rules are in the shooting section, so are the damage tables. So any argument that they only apply to shooting would also be an argument that skimmers can't ever be hurt in hth (since there is no damage table in that section). Obviously this isn't the case.

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:57 am
by -FarseerVinnie
So you can penetrate skimmers, but only if they move less than six inches. Skimmers that move more than six inches can't be penetrated by shooting or HtH.

The counter argument to this is that the "you can't glance skimmers" rule is in the shooting section, but that's nonsense, since lots of rules apply to sections of the book that they're not in.

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:44 am
by The Gunslinger
Sooo, what are you saying? ;)

Kidding. Got it! 6" and less, may be pen'd. More than 6", glancing only from HTH or shooting or from pirates

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:19 am
by -FarseerVinnie
So basically, you can only penetrate skimmers that move under 6"

Ed? Anything to add? :|

Re: Can you Penetrate a Skimmer in H2H?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:30 am
by mauleed
Nope, that covers it.