Page 2 of 3

Re: READ ME ---> MATT'S VERSION 4 POST

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 11:56 am
by mattbird
Hi all, thanks for the feedback. I'm jammed at work right now, but will answer the remaining questions here that were not posted in the living faq thread.

Re: READ ME ---> MATT'S VERSION 4 POST

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 2:17 pm
by mattbird
BenTheRat wrote:Hellfire Gun: No 'to hit' penalties?? Skirmish, hard cover, Way watchers special rule, buildings, etc??? Or do you just mean no modifiers for moving, multi-shot and long range?

No to hit penalties, period!

Shard of Obsedian: Can the bearers mount be affected by spells? You have Lord on Taurus, and I hit you with a magic missile spell. Randomize and 3 hit the mount, 1 on you. Yours is ignored, what about the Taurus? If the Taurus can be affected, what about spells that affect the whole model, like Beasts cower, or Pit of Shades, or unseen lurker?

Only the bearer is immune, so in your example, the mount would take hits from the spell, the character would ignore them. If the spell effects the whole model, it is ignored.

Amulet of Hashut: If the bearer of the amulet dies, does the unit automatically drop out of their frenzy? Or do they stay frenzy until they lose combat? What about if he leaves the unit?

the unit only benefits if the character is in the unit, and only until they have been beaten in combat.

Black Gem: I charge in with black gem and challenge your vamp lord. Your skeleton champ accepts so your Lord can make mince meat of my hobgoblins. Oops, we are still touching, so I can still gem your lord? Just checking? As now I cannot attack, no biggie, but now neither can your vamp lord and your champ as he is in the challenge with me and cannot attack me. ;)

yup! as is now in RH.

Bull Horn: All your units rally, and can still shoot this turn? If a wizard is in there, can he then rally and cast? Would he get his Power dice? If I miscast and you use this to rally all your guys, would a wizard get to add in his dispel dice to the pool?

units that rally cannot shoot in the same turn they rally. Wizards can cast I think, but I have to check the BRB to see when power dice are allocated. Same with dispel.


The other stuff is in the FAQ!
thanks, Matt

Re: READ ME ---> MATT'S VERSION 4 POST

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:18 pm
by mattbird
Urgat wrote:
Rabble: probably me, but I don't understand what "may not control special features" means.

Like objectives in take and hold scenarios.


Daemonic fury: where does the unit move if there's no enemy in LOS?

No LOS is required or indicated in the wording. The unit can effectively charge something it cannot see.

Kolossus: still not a fan of it, but obviously it won't be changed, so... What would be the base size for it?

50MM

Magic weapons:

Black blade of obsidian: I know it's pretty clear, but I'm asking for a clarification anyway: does it destroy any ward save, such as demonic saves? The BRB states that regeneration is now a kind of ward save, so does regeneration goes too?

regen is not technically a ward save.

Phantom blade: remember that when a profile stat reaches 0, the model dies, so maybe add a cap ("to a minimum of 1")?

If it's able to kill somebody by dropping them to 0, that's OK.

Why the firestones of uzkul, and no access whatsoever to common items?

They do have access to common items, it's in the first page of the magic item section- see Warriors of Chaos, or something like that.

The hexacon is really overpowered imho. You use that on the first VC incantation, and there you go!

I think you misread the effects, or the wording needs to be cleaned up. It's just a dispel effect, it does not destroy the spell. We'll fix that wording.

Armylist: is the juggernaught entry the kolossus? because a juggernaught at 330 points is a bit steep :p

oops! will fix

If the general is a hobgob, maybe bullcentaurs etc shouldn't be special choices, considering CD core choices become rare? Imho core CD should become special, specials become rare, and rares go.

I agree, something's not right here.

Voilou :)

Re: READ ME ---> MATT'S VERSION 4 POST

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:00 pm
by Renufus
There seem to be some discrepancies between stats for certain units/characters. For example, pp.11 has Hobgoblin Overseers with WS4/BS4 while pp.40 has them at WS5/BS3.

This is not the only instance of two pages having two different statlines for the same entry. Which one are we supposed to use?

Re: READ ME ---> MATT'S VERSION 4 POST

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:34 pm
by mattbird
added to FAQ, thanks!

Re: READ ME ---> MATT'S VERSION 4 POST

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 10:08 pm
by WickerNipple
allanmcnab wrote:He gives you a reach around? :(


It's how you know if he actually likes you.

(Sorry)

Re: READ ME ---> MATT'S VERSION 4 POST

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:11 pm
by Urgat
mattbird wrote:
Urgat wrote:Daemonic fury: where does the unit move if there's no enemy in LOS?

No LOS is required or indicated in the wording. The unit can effectively charge something it cannot see.


Sorry, I meant in the compulsive movement, you have to move towards the closest enemy visible (what I meant by LoS). Where does it move if there's none visible?

Re: READ ME ---> MATT'S VERSION 4 POST

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:52 am
by mattbird
right- but there's no LOS requirement in the movement- check the wording. It is simply closest enemy unit, period.

Re: READ ME ---> MATT'S VERSION 4 POST

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:57 pm
by Urgat
Oh, right, sorry about that. So that means they can be pulled in woods worse than frenzied troops? Pretty nasty drawback.

Re: READ ME ---> MATT'S VERSION 4 POST

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 4:30 pm
by mattbird
well, they move as skirmishers, and will only fail 1/6 turns, so it's not really that bad.