Page 2 of 3

Re: Clarifications and FAQ's

PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 8:05 pm
by DarkbloodSkullpulper
DarkbloodSkullpulper wrote:3) the blunderbuss special rules do not address how they act inside buildings. See the RH rules for a suggestion.

---------do units get rank bonuses within buildings? Rank Bonus is the key phrase in the annihilator rules, and should solve the question

4) the kolossus rules do no specify whether the crew's blunderbusses count as being ranked or not. suggestion: use the building rules.

--------crew of ridden monsters don't get a rank bonus, so this one seem clear?

In the current RH rules, for purposes of blunderbuss shooting, they are counted as having a rank for every level of the building. Without that added text, shooting from a building will only be at s3. I don't think it would be too confusing to say the crew of a Kolossus shoot as if they are in a 2 strory building, but you'd have to be careful to not give the impression that any other building rules would apply.

5a) The army list entry says daemonsmiths can take any 50 points of any magic item - it should note that they may not take weapons, but may take arcane items.

--------arcane is noted in the unit entry, as the daemon weapon allows him to count as a wizard in all respects.

I think it's generally a good idea to have the rules of the unit entry description match the short version in the army list. Just putting it out there.

11) Why is there an entry in the back of the book for the Mother Crushers?

------ :) look at the last few pages of the book again. We snuck this one in as a surprise, surprised none here have mentioned it before now.

12) Should there be any DOW available to the CD army?

--------DOW availability is now covered by the DOW rules. This is the way GW has been doing it for the last bunch of books.

Nice surprise, but man that makes my decision about specials harder. Can someone clarify the default for DOW? I thought that if there was no mention in the army book, then it was not an option. I play orcs quite a lot, and my impression was that since there was no entry for DOW, they did not have that option. If nothing else, I think the Mother Crushers should be noted elsewhere. Any thought about adding a giant as DOW?

15) Death Mace - may the bearer split his attacks between multiple models and be granted the toughness test against every model he hits (i.e. against multiple-wound infantry with different profiles, multiple characters, character on a mount, etc)
16) Same Q for the Phantom Blade.

-----yes, may split attacks as normal, unless that's deemed too good, and we want to limit it?


I'm on the fence. It might be too good of an option for the Phantom blade, but not for the Death Mace.

Re: Clarifications and FAQ's

PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 2:06 pm
by DarkbloodSkullpulper
Here's a question that could perhaps use some explanation:
How does the random effect of the Gauntlets of Bazrhak work?
Do you just count all friendly models in base contact, and then randomize?
Can it affect friendly models in a different unit but still in base contact with the wearer? What if the character with the gauntlets is in a kolossus (the reason that the question occurred to me)?

Re: Clarifications and FAQ's

PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:29 pm
by Nehan
what's with move and/or fire? it's not mentioned in any of the shooting units in the book.
can annihilators move and fire (as they could before)
can machines (eruption/rokkit/shaker) move and fire? suppose not, but it's not clarified.

Re: Clarifications and FAQ's

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:32 am
by DarkbloodSkullpulper
Sorry, one last Q.

Does the black blade of obsidian negate the initial ward save as well, or is it just the case that after the first fail, there is no further chance of ward saves? Under RAW, the latter should be the case, but perhaps it should be spelled out for the sake of clarity. I think that this means that the enemy target will need to roll ward saves one at a time until one is failed, and then no more after that, for the rest of the game.

For instance, the wording could be changed to, "If an enemy fails a ward save from a wound inflicted by the blade, then that enemy loses its ward for the rest of the game."

Re: Clarifications and FAQ's

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:24 am
by Renufus
DarkbloodSkullpulper wrote:Sorry, one last Q.

Does the black blade of obsidian negate the initial ward save as well, or is it just the case that after the first fail, there is no further chance of ward saves? Under RAW, the latter should be the case, but perhaps it should be spelled out for the sake of clarity. I think that this means that the enemy target will need to roll ward saves one at a time until one is failed, and then no more after that, for the rest of the game.

For instance, the wording could be changed to, "If an enemy fails a ward save from a wound inflicted by the blade, then that enemy loses its ward for the rest of the game."


I think the wording is pretty clear that after taking an unsaved wound, the model may no longer take any ward saves, so yes, ward saves would need to be rolled one at a time.

Re: Clarifications and FAQ's

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:20 pm
by mattbird
Nehan wrote:what's with move and/or fire? it's not mentioned in any of the shooting units in the book.
can annihilators move and fire (as they could before)
can machines (eruption/rokkit/shaker) move and fire? suppose not, but it's not clarified.


Hi, and welcome to the boards!

annihilators may move and shoot as normal. Note that all (in any army) models may, unless otherwise noted.

Machines may not move and fire. The Eruption Gun states it in it's special rules. The DR and Earthshaker Cannon say that they fire as a cannon/stone thrower, which may not move and fire. In these cases we picked up wording directly from the Hellcannon, as they work basically the same way.

Re: Clarifications and FAQ's

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 2:41 pm
by Guy In Suit
:censored:

Re: Clarifications and FAQ's

PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2009 5:02 pm
by mattbird
Q: can annihilators still fire if they are less than 5-wide?

I think we should FAQ it that they must be at least 5-wide, otherwise you'll have people hiding units in un-chargeable places, like a 2-wide unit set 1" back between 2 other units.

Re: Clarifications and FAQ's

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:44 am
by mattbird
Can daemonsmiths join Eruption Guns?

Re: Clarifications and FAQ's

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:50 am
by elrodogg
The ballistic skill of a slavemaster (hero) is a 4, while the overlord (lord) has a ballistic skill of 3? Should the lord be upped to a 4?