Page 2 of 3

Re: Dwarfs of Chaos Errata and FAQ

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 4:59 pm
by WickerNipple
KevinC wrote:The hardest thing about this project has been: how much do I keep in line with GW and where is the line drawn? My opinion has always been if a magic weapon attacks you in any way then is should be a magical attack. I realize that other rulings might not be the same, but, to me, that is simply confusing. It's quite simply easy to remember a magic weapon causes magical attacks. For example, GW has made rulings on this kind of thing before, but do you think it people still ask - what did the FAQ say? are these magical attacks or not? I bet and know people do, I would ask too, because it's such a weird ruling one might not remember it correctly.


You are absolutely 100% right. You just need to say that instead of what you did say! :lol:

But it's just the weapon is short ranged and their are ways to prevent the unit from shooting and the character is getting hit on a single 4+ roll causing only one wound.


Oh of course there's plenty of counters, and if the answer goes this way people will cope just fine. But it's not a good idea. :)

When you say he gets look out sir, then what? another model can be hit twice?


A fair point re: extra hits. I'd think the most simple answer is just to lose the attack if the character passes look out sir. It wouldn't be wrong to still give the blunderbusses the same number of attacks, but it would be much harder to explain in a simple concrete fashion. I envision this entire paragraph devoted to clumsily explaining it followed by "For example, in a unit of 20 goblins with two heroes......."

But even so it is probably safe to have lookout sir simply so that players don't get upset about having their characters wounded or slain in this manner from a fan made book.


Yes. That is exactly the reason.

Re: Dwarfs of Chaos Errata and FAQ

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:48 am
by big al
I'm not sure if it has already been adressed, but when do demonsmiths generate their spell? At the beginning of the game, or at the beginning of each magic phase?

Re: Dwarfs of Chaos Errata and FAQ

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:01 am
by Garrett
It's in the book, at the beginning of the game, when you roll for your wizard's spells.

Re: Dwarfs of Chaos Errata and FAQ

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:07 pm
by WickerNipple
And people ask me why I love the internet.

Re: Dwarfs of Chaos Errata and FAQ

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:48 am
by Servius
I think that as far as the Annihilators go..

One solve which we have locally adopted is that instead of working like Conflag or Curse of Years where every model is hit and champions/character are hit on their own rolls we simply make it were the Annihilators get a number of shots equal to the number of models in the target unit.. It ends up being the same amount of possible hits and wounds.. But in this way the shots are distributed as per shooting rules as opposed to singling out. Its is also much quicker as far as rolling and I think keeps well with the original intent of the RH rules.

Re: Dwarfs of Chaos Errata and FAQ

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 4:48 pm
by Aves
No, as per the rulebook characters may not carry more then one magic item that contains a bound spell. Since the Daemonsmith's Daemon Weapon counts as a magic weapon and contains a bound spell, he may not take another bound spell magic item


Actully Kevin, this rules says character can not have more than 2 bound spells, not 2 items. This only matters for warriors priests for now, but lets have FAQ more accurate.

Re: Dwarfs of Chaos Errata and FAQ

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:03 am
by KevinC
Actully Kevin, this rules says character can not have more than 2 bound spells, not 2 items. This only matters for warriors priests for now, but lets have FAQ more accurate.


--------Hi Aves, the rulebook actually had an errata specifically so that characters like the Arch-Lector may have 2 Bounds Spells. The errata states that a character may not have more than one magic item that contains a bound spell.

Cheers,

Kevin out

Re: Dwarfs of Chaos Errata and FAQ

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:35 pm
by Da Crusha
Hi i am a regular at chaos-dwarfs.com and I followed a link here.
a couple of things I noticed for the faq/errata:

the deathrocket crew are described as having a Movement of 3 in the bestiary section and a movement of 4 in the points section.

the great bull centaur(Lord level) does not have the option of having armor and a shield but the great horn bull centaur (Hero Level) does have the option of armor and shield.

Re: Dwarfs of Chaos Errata and FAQ

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 2:59 pm
by mattbird
regarding Blunderbusses, I am thinking we can streamline them a bit, as follows:

str 4
18" range
BS 4 (or +1 to hit)
Volley Fire
Move or Fire

what do you guys think?

Re: Dwarfs of Chaos Errata and FAQ

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 3:10 pm
by Guy In Suit
I like it. Streamlined and balanced vs. handguns and whatnot.

I might even do S3 12-24" and S5 if within 6" as it is fluffy and awesome, but thats a bit complicated.

As is they are way too all or nothing... but then thats the theme of 8th, so maybe they should stay? :lol: