Anyone see the diatribe against NMM in this WD?

Painting and converting tips, show off your models, get advice!

Anyone see the diatribe against NMM in this WD?

Postby -Papa Gino » Fri Oct 07, 2005 5:58 am

NMM = Non Metalic Metalics.

The guy's argument is basically that while NMM realistically captures shadows/reflections from one angle, walking around the model/changing the angle/etc. makes 'em look "wrong". Hence using NMM in most cases is "wrong".

He also apparently happens to be a Golden Daemon winner (or so he claims)...but his viewpoint was very, very strong.

Being that I have no experience with NMMs myself (never tried), was just curious a) if people noticed, b) what they thought, and c) what would GW's motivation be in devoting an entire page of WD to dissuading the unwashed masses (especially of Little Billies) from using NMM?
-Papa Gino

Re: Anyone see the diatribe against NMM in this WD?

Postby WickerNipple » Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:30 am

I played Joe at Boston 2004 and he told me at the time that he gave my elves his Player's Choice vote. This took me aback because while I'm proud of my elves, I don't think they're *that* great...

Regardless, they're NMM....:lol

So: Joe either has recently changed his opinions on things or he's just a gross-faced liar!

Personally, I think the whole thing is just silliness. Paint your models as you please.
WickerNipple

Postby VectorAWX3 » Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:17 am

Yup.. paint in any fashion that makes you happy. After all, 50% of the people looking at your models are YOU!!!

I think NMM looks fine, if done well. If done poorly, it looks like shite. Plenty of people things that JUST because they do "NMM" they're models are kool. NOT true. It's like any other style of technique.

Done at a too level (like Matt's dragon princes) and it's pretty much unbeatable. But most people just can't pull it off.