Dwarves and the Stone

Moderator: Anger Worm

Dwarves and the Stone

Postby Bauhaus » Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:51 pm

How does everyone interpret the rules for changing the placement of command if the oath stone has been dropped?

The 7th edition rules allow for formations to change during combat in a number of interesting ways. A dwarf player is charged in the flank, and drops his oathstone. If the dwarf player wins a round of combat, can he now move all his command to face the enemy?
Blood for the Blood God!
User avatar
Bauhaus
 
Posts: 2826
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:30 am

Re: Dwarves and the Stone

Postby -poxous » Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:07 pm

Have you seen the thread on TWF?

It's a good debate.

As for turning??? What's the point?
-poxous
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:03 pm

Re: Dwarves and the Stone

Postby jchrisobrien » Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:18 pm

the only point is probably moving characters, but he could do that anyway if he wins combat. Standards and musicians always work, even when fighting at the flank and rear.

So, no point really.
"Play the game!" --KevinC
User avatar
jchrisobrien
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:59 am

Re: Dwarves and the Stone

Postby -TheRooster101 » Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:29 pm

I always believed the character could fight in any direction considering the oath stone says you have no front anymore.
-TheRooster101
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:17 am

Re: Dwarves and the Stone

Postby Bauhaus » Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:27 pm

Reading the TWF is usually pretty painful and as expeted - it was!

What I would say when the stone gets dropped:

1) You get Hand Weapon Shield in all directions (even the corner models).

2) Character and command can move to a fighting rank.

3) The unit is still considered to be "not moving".

4) Since the dwarf player can't "move" (or expand frontage) as far as ranks go, the dwarf player gets ranks per the original facing - before they dropped the stone. They still remove figures from their original "back" rank although it's probably easier to remove figures from elsewhere in the unit.

Does anyone have something to say that would change my mind?
Blood for the Blood God!
User avatar
Bauhaus
 
Posts: 2826
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:30 am

Re: Dwarves and the Stone

Postby elrodogg » Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:36 pm

I have to reread the rules, but I recall the charachter not being able to move from the spot that he dropped the stone in. So, I am iffy on point 2. Unfortunately I don't have the rulebook to reference.

Everything else makes total sense to me.
Fast, like kittens with jetpacks.
User avatar
elrodogg
 
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:21 pm
Location: Brooklyn

Re: Dwarves and the Stone

Postby jchrisobrien » Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:45 pm

I agree. HW&S bonus all around!

That post made me want to tear out my eyes, and stop playing Warhammer. Fortunately, cooler heads prevailed!

I did get a laugh out of the argument that wall of fire would affect all 4 sides of the oathstone unit though :rollin
"Play the game!" --KevinC
User avatar
jchrisobrien
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:59 am

Re: Dwarves and the Stone

Postby Bauhaus » Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:37 am

Ronen, it was true under 6th that the character couldn't move, but now under 7th, with some of the new abilities to move within the unit once a round of combat is won or during the movement phase, in some cases, it seems that it would make sense for the dwarf to do so.
Blood for the Blood God!
User avatar
Bauhaus
 
Posts: 2826
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 11:30 am

Re: Dwarves and the Stone

Postby elrodogg » Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:54 am

I recall something along the lines of the oathstone saying that he couldn't move. I'll check tonight/tomorrow and give my expert opinion.
Fast, like kittens with jetpacks.
User avatar
elrodogg
 
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:21 pm
Location: Brooklyn

Re: Dwarves and the Stone

Postby VectorAWX3 » Fri Mar 16, 2007 1:00 am

Hey.. if a unit which dropped the stone get beaten and flees, and they get away and rally, I assume that at that point, the stone is gone, they can move around normally, etc.
Jaghatai, on the Pale Rider event: I hop on this board to post a simple NEWCC question, end up looking at some interacial lesbian action and watch a religious meltdown. You guys know how to party!
User avatar
VectorAWX3
 
Posts: 10006
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:13 am

Next

Return to Warhammer Fantasy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron