7th ed FAQ

Moderator: Anger Worm

7th ed FAQ

Postby WickerNipple » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:31 am

us.games-workshop.com/errata/assets/warhammer_v7_faq.pdf

7th ed FAQ is out.

Some weird unexpected stuff in there:

Sliding isn't technically legal according to GW, but you're an asshole if you don't let the other guy do it.

And Tactical Charging is explicitly encouraged - have fun doing outrageous wheels to get better overruns!

Oh and the 1" sucked into combat rule that they removed from the Rules Appendix in the middle of 6th edition is now back again. Confusion encouraged.
User avatar
WickerNipple
 
Posts: 8135
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:37 am

Re: 7th ed FAQ

Postby -poxous » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:34 am

"Tactical Charging is explicitly encouraged - have fun doing outrageous wheels to get better overruns!"

I already have been for years!

I think they got lazy on the sliding thing. Looks like they just used last ed stuff and reprinted. It just seems so easy to say ... MAX models means MAX models even if you need to fudge it.
-poxous
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:03 pm

Re: 7th ed FAQ

Postby WickerNipple » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:38 am

Yeah, I've resisted doing it because there's been arguments on both sides and no clear resolution.

You can do really insane things with a blanket pronouncement. Especially against skirmishers.

(Like fly over them, then wheel to face, then charge - since they don't have a frontage until contacted.)
User avatar
WickerNipple
 
Posts: 8135
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:37 am

Re: 7th ed FAQ

Postby -poxous » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:45 am

I've never been dirty enough to do the flyer thing but my new unit of PKs has noted it :hat
-poxous
 
Posts: 557
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:03 pm

Re: 7th ed FAQ

Postby WickerNipple » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:48 am

It's now legal!
User avatar
WickerNipple
 
Posts: 8135
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:37 am

Re: 7th ed FAQ

Postby WickerNipple » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:52 am

They also explicitly encourage the "Direwolf on a Stick" effect of having a single line of troops with just the unit Champion in the front.

Your opponent can only kill the Champion if that's all they're in base contact with.
User avatar
WickerNipple
 
Posts: 8135
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:37 am

Re: 7th ed FAQ

Postby WickerNipple » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:52 am

(I still can't believe the people who write these things actually play this game.)
User avatar
WickerNipple
 
Posts: 8135
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:37 am

Re: 7th ed FAQ

Postby -Jarrett » Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:23 am

How exactly would the skirmishing thing work if you have to charge the closest skirmisher? Can't leap over the unit and hit a different one.

Could be used vs a single US 1 model though
-Jarrett
 
Posts: 3773
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:35 pm

Re: 7th ed FAQ

Postby WickerNipple » Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:33 am

Yeah, you have to conform to the nearest skirmisher, but it's very possible when they're stretched out or in a line, etc.
User avatar
WickerNipple
 
Posts: 8135
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:37 am

Re: 7th ed FAQ

Postby -Jarrett » Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:33 am

You may be an asshole but they say over and over again if you slide you're not playing by the rules. Sigh...

Yeah well, things are going to get pretty hairy if you try to say that a line of skirmishers is literally equidistant from the chargers. This is like the old setting off two fanatics - technically but not physically possible
-Jarrett
 
Posts: 3773
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:35 pm

Next

Return to Warhammer Fantasy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron