Page 1 of 1

Fear Question

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:49 pm
by -Roy
Played a recent game of my Vampire Counts v. new Dwarves (assembled but unpainted ! )
During my turn I charged a unit of 5 Fell Bats into a Dwarf Bolt Thrower with a crew of 3. The dwarf rule "Gunners Pride" states he may not voluntarely choose to flee as a charge reaction. He opted to hold and took a fear test. He failed his fear test. The rules state on page 50 "the unit must immediately change his charge reaction to 'flee'.
Seemed to me this was an unvoluntary change but we weren't 100% sure.
We ended up rolling it off and I won the roll so the dwarves fleed and were caught by the flyers.
So which rule is correct in your opinion. The main book or the special gunner pride rule in the dwarf book.
I ask here because games workshop answers can be a bit confusing if you haven't noticed.
Thanks
Roy

Re: Fear Question

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:35 pm
by -GZealot
My understanding is that they cant just choose to flee as a reaction. The failing of the fear check forces them to flee not choose to.

later,
greg

Re: Fear Question

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:55 pm
by WickerNipple
You played it right.